Lion Brand Shawl in a Ball

I just got this yarn last week, and I am already in love with the unique texture of this yarn. Lion Brand’s Shawl in a Ball yarn is designed to have enough yardage for a shawl project. There is a very nice selection of colors, ranging from shades of pink or blue or gray, to more colorful transitions. This particular colorway is called Peaceful Earth, and goes through two shades of brown, to green, to red, to purple, to cream, and back through the colorway to the browns. It’s a gorgeous colorway, which I was really excited to work with.

peaceful earth

The texture is really interesting. Supposedly, it’s supposed to be like working with silk or mohair. I’ve never worked with anything like that, so I can’t say how similar it is. They also say it is part “cotton slob”. I’ve also never worked with that, but I would guess that it has to do with the curled and kind of knobby texture of cotton yarn that the color is woven together with.

strand

At first I wasn’t sure how I felt about the strange white strands mixed in with the color, but I quickly came to love it. I discovered it really helped to blend the transitions between rows, making them much less noticeable and harsh. There is also a great deal of variance in the texture and the tightness of the “worsting”. In some sections, the color and the slob are tightly twisted together; on the other hand, there are some sections where the colored strand of the yarn is much looser and fuzzy.  I would also mention that this is not a yarn to work with if you are following a complicated pattern, as it tangles horribly if you try to pull it out. I lost a good chunk of yardage to a pattern change when I tried to pull it out and start over.

shawl

This yarn is absolutely gorgeous and I am so excited to finish this shawl. I am about halfway done in just a few days.

To get this gorgeous yarn for yourself, swing by Amazon and check it out!
Shawl in a Ball: Peaceful Earth

Leave a Reply

